Professional Development and Appraisal System (PDAS)

PDAS remains in place during the 2015-16 school year as the State's approved instrument for appraising its teachers and identifying areas that would benefit from staff development.  Cornerstones of the process include a minimum of one 45-minute observation and completion of the Teacher Self-Report form.  PDAS includes 51 criteria within eight domains reflecting the Proficiencies for Learner-Centered Instruction adopted in 1997 by the State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC).  The domains are:

  1. Active, Successful Student Participation in the Learning Process
  2. Learner-centered Instruction
  3. Evaluation and feedback on Student Progress
  4. Management of Student Discipline, Instructional Strategies, Time/Materials
  5. Professional Communication
  6. Professional Development
  7. Compliance with Policies, Operating Procedures and Requirements
  8. Improvement of All Students' Academic Performance

Included in the appraisal system are Instructional Leadership Development (ILD) and Administrator Appraisal.

PDAS requires that new teachers and teachers new to a district receive an orientation. In addition, the PDAS Teacher Manual is to be given to ALL teachers
(see Letter to the PDAS Trainer Addressed).

New Principal Evaluation and Support System (T-PESS)

The information previously located here, has been moved to the T-PESS webpage  

Click here to continue>